May the 20th 2020 – (10:20 AM PDT | 1:20 PM EDT | 6:20 PM BST | 7:20 PM CEST), 

Highly Sensitive Crystal Digital PCRTM Detection kit

for SARS-CoV-2

by Romain Parillaud, PhD (Stilla Technologies)

Speakers’s Bio

Romain received his PhD in Neuro-Immunology at Paris VI University, using gene expression analysis on micro-dissected glia cells to determine the role of inflammatory cues in Parkinson Disease mice model. After leading the support of genomics portfolio for Bio-Rad in EMEA, Romain joined our forces as International Application Specialist at Stilla Technologies.

Abstract

The current gold standard for COVID-19 diagnosis is based on the detection of SARS-CoV-2 nucleic acid using real-time quantitative PCR (RT-qPCR). Recent studies suggest limitations of RT-qPCR in the detection of SARS-CoV-2, possibly leading to false-negative results. Development of robust and sensitive laboratory tests is of primary importance. Naica™ System is a Digital PCR platform offering absolute quantification of nucleic acids with very high sensitivity and precision.

Based on early and successful proof of concept in China, Stilla is developping a SARS-CoV-2 detection kit on the NaicaTM System: a highly sensitive and internally controlled SARS-CoV-2 3-plex. It allows detection of two distinct regions: Nucleocapside (N) and ORF1ab genes of the SARS-CoV-2 positive-strand RNA genome, and an endogenous PCR reference detecting a human housekeeping gene. This single assay design permits the simultaneous detection of two independent SARS-CoV-2 sequences while concurrently monitoring sample PCR effectiveness.

Due to its higher sensitivity, Crystal Digital PCR coupled with the detection kit for SARS-CoV-2 should be a perfect alternative to investigate non conclusive high Ct results obtained in RT-qPCR.

REGISTER HERE